Galleries Educational Resources
Advanced Search

Welcome Saint John has played a significant role in the economic, cultural, and environmental history of New Brunswick and Canada. In the nineteenth century, the city exerted considerable economic influence over an economic hinterland extending throughout New Brunswick, across the Bay of Fundy and around the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. Shipbuilding. timber and trade dominated the regional economy. Saint John merchants controlled much of this trade from its well-protected ice-free harbour, and their interests extended from the Bay of Fundy to Liverpool and the ‘Boston States’.

Although identified as Canada's oldest incorporated city (1785), the city's contemporary urban structure owes a considerable legacy to the industrial age. Following a disastrous fire in 1877, the waterfront and central business district were redeveloped. The urban residential and commercial structure was altered by the vigorous rebuilding of a large portion of the downtown which resulted in one of the best, contiguous collections of Victorian architecture in Canada. In 1893, an electric streetcar system replaced a horse-drawn street railway, and promoted the expansion of suburbs in the western fringe of the city.

The First and Second World Wars stimulated Saint John’s economic and demographic base. The shipbuilding industry was rejuvenated in these eras, and many Saint John companies engaged in the production of goods for the war effort. Following World War II, a variety of large-scale industrial enterprises emerged as the backbone of the City’s economy: pulp mills, a sugar refinery, an oil refinery, and shipbuilding facilities.

Among the most noteworthy urban changes in the post-war era were housing developments in the City’s north end, and an extensive post-War urban renewal programme. These significantly altered the face of several of the City’s neighbourhoods. An ambitious master plan for the City was designed in 1946 (Merrett Report) that outlined new suburban neighbourhoods in the outskirts of the City, and proposed areas for redevelopment. Several surrounding villages were later amalgamated with the City of Saint John (in 1967), creating the largest city, by area, in Atlantic Canada. Since then, suburban expansion has continued well beyond these municipal boundaries to the east and west of the City (into the surrounding municipalities of Rothesay, Quispamsis, and Grand Bay-Westfield). A high-speed highway divided Saint John's north end from the downtown core and permitted more widespread commuting from more distant rural villages and hamlets as far afield as the Kingston Peninsula and Hampton (to the northeast) and St. George (to the southwest).

The images in this exhibit try to capture some of the character of Saint John in its transition from the nineteenth century to the present. This collection of approximately 1,100 visual images and archival documents provides a dynamic view of the changes in transportation, industry, technology, art and architecture that occurred. The eight galleries are thematically organized around industry, public spaces, businesses, neighbourhoods, cultural explorations, maps and plans, and visions for the future. These are intended to be interactive. I hope you will enjoy these photographs and images as much as I have.

By: Dr. Robert MacKinnon, (Dean of Arts, UNB Saint John and Co-Director, The Industrial City in Transition Community-University Research Alliance Project)


City Map | Credits | Copyright | Contact Us | Links | Site Map | Museum | Français
© New Brunswick Museum / Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick 2007

Galeries Les ressources didactiques
Recherche avancé

Bienvenue Saint John a joué un rôle marquant dans l’histoire économique, culturelle et environnementale du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Canada. Au XIXe siècle, la ville exerce une influence économique considérable sur un arrière-pays comprenant tout le Nouveau-Brunswick, la région de la baie de Fundy et celle du golf du Saint-Laurent. La construction navale, le bois et le commerce dominent alors l’économie régionale. Les marchands de Saint John contrôlent une bonne partie du commerce depuis le port libre de glace et bien protégé de la ville; leurs intérêts commerciaux s’étendent de la baie de Fundy jusqu’à Liverpool et les « États de Boston ».

Même si Saint John est la plus ancienne ville constituée du Canada (1785), sa structure urbaine contemporaine a reçu de l’ère industrielle un héritage important. À la suite d’un incendie désastreux en 1877, le centre-ville et le secteur au bord de l’eau sont réaménagés. La reconstruction vigoureuse d’une grande partie du centre-ville transforme le paysage résidentiel et commercial. C’est d’ailleurs ce qui explique la présence d’une concentration d’architecture victorienne, une des meilleures « collections » du genre au Canada. En 1893, le tramway électrique détrône le système hippomobile et favorise l’expansion des banlieues dans l’ouest de la ville.

Les Première et Deuxième Guerres mondiales stimulent le tissu économique et démographique de Saint John. À ces époques, l’industrie de la construction navale se modernise et les compagnies de Saint John se lancent nombreuses dans la production de biens pour soutenir l’effort de guerre. Par la suite, diverses entreprises industrielles s’implantent solidement : des usines de pâte à papier, une raffinerie de sucre, une raffinerie de pétrole et des installations de construction navale.

Les ensembles résidentiels du secteur Nord de la ville ainsi qu’un vaste programme de rénovation urbaine comptent parmi les changements les plus remarquables de l’après-guerre. Plusieurs quartiers de la ville sont complètement transformés. Un ambitieux plan d’urbanisme conçu en 1946 (rapport Merrett) propose la création de quartiers de banlieue et le réaménagement de certains secteurs de la ville. Plusieurs villages avoisinants fusionneront avec Saint John (1967), ce qui en fait la ville la plus étendue du Canada atlantique. Depuis, les banlieues ont poursuivi leur expansion vers l’est et l’ouest, élargissant les territoires de municipalités voisines comme Rothesay, Quispamsis et Grand Bay-Westfield. Une route à grande vitesse relie le secteur Nord de Saint John au centre-ville. Comme elle facilite les déplacements entre la maison et le travail, elle accroît le nombre de personnes qui s’installent dans des localités aussi lointaines que la péninsule de Kingston et Hampton, au nord-est, et St. George, au sud-ouest.

Les images qui font partie de cette exposition donnent un aperçu de l’évolution du caractère de Saint John depuis le XIXe siècle jusqu’à nos jours. Cette collection d’environ 1100 images et documents d’archives offre une vue dynamique des changements qui se sont opérés dans le transport, l’industrie, la technologie, les arts et l’architecture. Les huit galeries s’articulent autour des thèmes suivants : l’industrie, les espaces publics, les entreprises, les quartiers, les explorations culturelles, les cartes et plans et les visions d’avenir. J’espère que ces images et photographies vous plairont autant qu’à moi.

Robert MacKinnon, Ph.D., doyen de la faculté des arts de l’UNB à Saint John et codirecteur du projet « Une ville industrielle en transition » de l’Alliance de recherche universités-communautés


Plan de la ville | Crédits | Droit d'auteur  | Contactez-nous | Liens | Carte du site | Musée | English
© New Brunswick Museum / Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick 2007