Public Spaces
Home Galleries Educational Resources
Advanced Search

St. JohnObject number: 1996.44.26
Gallery: Public Spaces
Object Name: photograph
Title: St. John's (Stone) Church, Carleton Street, Saint John, New Brunswick
Artist: Bowron & Cox
Date: c. 1865
Medium: unmounted albumen print carte-de-visite
Dimensions: overall: 5.5 x 9.5 cm
Credit Line: Purchase, 1996
Notes: St. Johnís Church was constructed as a chapel-of-ease, in 1825, as by 1822 Trinity Church had become too small to accommodate the fast growing population of Saint John. The idea of a chapel-at-ease was considered as a solution. An offer by Hon. Ward Chipman for lots on Carleton Street facing Wellington Row was accepted. Stone was brought from England to construct the church and financing of the new church was raised through subscription, loans and the sale of pews. The official name of the church was St. Johnís Church and soon became known as ĎStone Churchí distinguishing it from the wooden frame churches of the city. It was built in the gothic style, unique in the early days. The architect was John C. Cunningham, born at Dumfries, Scotland, who designed many of the old buildings in the city. Construction of the church began in 1824 and officially opened in August 1825. The first regular service was held on September 11, 1825. The tower was completed in July 1826. Rectors of Trinity Church also had the care of Stone Church and the St. Johnís Chapel in west Saint John. By 1846 the city outside the four walls of Stone Church had grown and there were calls for additional parishes each with its own rector. In 1853, St. Johnís (Stone) Church became the parish church of the newly-designated St. Markís parish. The act creating Parish of St. Mark in Saint John for ecclesiastical purposes passed on April 14th 1853.

City Map | Credits | Copyright | Contact Us | Links | Site Map | Museum | FranÁais
© New Brunswick Museum / Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick 2007